Uncategorized

Book Marathon

Okay, so like in the AA: Hi my names Maebhe and i am a book addict. 🙂 But i also dont want to be cured so leave me and my books…in my room…with hundreds of cups of tea in fun and quirky mugs :). I love this quotes by on of my favourite authors C. S. Lewis

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me”

But even i can admit that i have had a bit of a crazy book marathon where i have a mini mountain of books which i have slowly working my way through them, but in the end i just keep adding to it – so it is never ending mountain of happiness. 🙂

However my book happiness has been threatened – because i go through phases when it comes to what kinda books i want to read. So i range from high fantasy and sci-fi through to crime and like recently i have the odd YA periods even altho im 20 now( 😦 O my gosh im getting old lol) or as i like to say twen-teen :D. Altho these periods are rare it usually because somebody has recommended it and they are usually good and are a light reads for when you i need a break from all magic and fantasy goodness that is J.r Ward, Kenyon, Feehan, Briggs etc.

However i had a tramatic read of my recent YA read. Because i got paid and had a little raid of Waterstones – which is my Nerdvana :). And i found a book which i got recommended through my Goodreads, which is an online book review, library, community thing 🙂 but its really good to get suggestions and reviews.

So stop rambling Maebhe! I got suggested the book Girl Heart Boy: No such thing as Forever by Ali Cronin because i read a series by someone whos name i cant remember (insert blush) but when i find it i’ll let you know – it was years ago im sorryyyy. But i got suggested it so without reading what others had thought i just got it when i was out as well as The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

SO here is the sites blurb:

Cass is Ms Monogamy. Ashley is a player. Donna is a party girl. But what about Sarah?
Her friends tease her for being uptight, but she’s waiting for the one. Now she’s found him, but is he forever – or is Sarah just his summer fling?

So it sounds like a girly romance, right? No.

Okay so from the first chapter i knew this wasnt for me. And while i sooo dont like dis-ing a persons book, because as a novice/hopeful writer i realise the amount of work and effort that goes into the creation of writing but i so cant find anything about this book that i liked. Other than the fact that it could hopeful it could knock some sense into annoying wee girls who might realise what they sound like in life.

Okay beware there may be spoilers – and these opinions are entirely my own and maybe there are others who would like this – because Ali Cronin did also write the Skins book and that show is incredibly popular with people, it was just never my thing and this book is the same.

The main figure Sarah turns into one of the most annoying girls ever which i will admit there is a strong stereotype of in the UK 🙂 – cause i live there lol. but honestly if i found out any of my female cousins/friends/aquientences were that stupid over a guy i would shake them and pay for them to talk to somebody. Plus i am totally not sure this book is young adult appropriate because there is alot of sex and sex talk. And she is what i would classify as sleazy.

But in Sarahs defence, she is olny 16 and the guy in the book is in uni and about 20, so in the book he is totally leading her on and talks here into doing things which i was freaked out over, cause i dont like age gaps when they are that young. It could possibily act as a way to scare wee girls away from older guys and act as a warning about how many brain cells fail to fully function in your teenage years but if your life every starts to sound like this book – run like hell and find a friend to talk to.

I read this book in one night – partly because i was terrified i would have to start reading it again and because she was sooooo annoying i kept reading to see when she would come to her senses. Because i was on the verge of throwing the book and that doesnt happen to me…like ever!

So please no. And now i dont know what to do with it because i dont want it and i refuse to give this to one of my cousins or something because they are mostly younger than me…

 

To the writer i am soo sorry but this was so not for me. But i know that if you like Skins it would suit better even tho its like a younger version.

“Would dont need bigger boobs – you need better books”

 

3 thoughts on “Book Marathon

  1. I’ve read a few good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you place to create the sort of magnificent informative web site.

    1. Thank you so much, that is quite the compliment 😀 you’ll make me blush. But thank you and honestly its just randomness that comes to me somedays.
      Maebhe

Leave a Reply

