Uncategorized

Tea Blog: Uni and the Great Book Exchange

Tea in my cute starbucks mug, I shall now begin…

Soo i have just had a crazy week back at uni, which was the first full week. I will warn all you uni students out there that while there is not much of a transition period between first and second year except that they kinda expect you to know what have to do things already and be even more self organised. Tha transition between second and third or entrance to your final year – OMGOSH!! ITS RIDICULOUS!!

I feel like i have been thrown straight into the middle of a semester i literally am trying to multi-task

  • Dissertation proposals
  • Applying for Masters programmes
  • Volunteering
  • Working (escaping overtime)
  • Thinking about Essays – One week in!
  • Multiple critical comentries
  • Mountains\Kindle-Killing levels of reading
  • Meeting personal tutors: who just make my life sound 10 times scarier than it already is!!

Translation: My life currently sucks right now!!

You have entered the Dead Zone—> Panic attack central. Yes im being mellow dramatic, but i have honestly had a rather sad day and needed to rant – but about the fun portion which kept me going 😀

But the shining beacon in my life as of right now: one of my Uni friends, Sio: brought me books, Fun Books i must add to uni and we had a little book exchange.

This was part of this little project we have had going on all summer. Because traditionally i am an Urban Fantasy/Fantasy Romance kinda reader, and thats what i have been reading since i was about 11 years old, altho admittedly i probly shouldnt have been reading some of them at that time, but didnt scar me so it’s fine :). While Sio is more of a what i call High Fantasy kinda reader. So its what i think is the more classical straight fantasy. So this summer we exchanged authors and she has added to my reading list – altho my finances dont entirely appreciate this hehe- It has made me very happy because i had gotten stuck in a rut when it came to new books, because they all started to ound the same, so they were like carbon copies of things i read. So i had reverted to re-reads, which i still love, but you can only read something so many times within a certain time frame.

The authors i have slowly been converting her to include:

  • Patricia Briggs
  • Kelley Armstrong
  • J R Ward
  • Neil Gaiman (currently reading)
  • Laurell K Hamilton
  • Sherrilyn Kenyon
  • Christine Feehan
  • Kresley Cole
  • Karen Chance
  • Lara Adrain
  • et cetera 😀

WHile she on the other hand has slowly been converting me to hers as well including:

  • Robin Hobb (currently reading)
  • Naomi Novik (currently reading)
  • Patrick Rothfuss (currently reading)
  • Terry Pratchett
  • Megan Turner
  • Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Carol Berg
  • George RR Martin

This list is in a state of flux and is continually growing and changing rantings – which brings me back to my shining moment today. While sitting over hot chocolate with marshmallows we exchanged books!!

Us students must be wise with our money 🙂 – perfect excuse mwahaha

Sio got Kelley armstrongs Bitten – the book, which at 12 introduced me to Urban Fantasy – i will be eternally thankful to this woman! :), Christine Feehans Shadow Game and Amanda Carlson’s Full Blooded – which i recently reviewed

While i was trusted with Naomi Novik’s Temeraire and Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind – which is the size of 2 books lol 🙂

So far i havent managed to open wither because i had to work tonight and tomorrow morning – but i have plans to finish work, put on comfy clothes, get me a huge cup of Tea and sit in front of my fire and readdd. And enjoy it because i wont have as much time to read for fun this year.

But im still hoping to keep reviewing for you’s and if you are interesting in finding out anymore info about any of my authors or Sio’s and i will reply asap and i am thinking about creating little over views for some of my authors- either of their first book in the series or an overview of the series so far… I will think more on this 🙂

But hope your week has been better, or at least less stressful than mine :), it really cant be hard to beat

Maebhe

(and i just realised i start my blogs with ‘So’ alot :s) > sorry

Leave a Reply

