Review: Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

Tea-in-hand: Yep!

Blurb:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Review:

From my little tea blogs it is clear to see that 3rd of university is currently running me into the ground despite the fact that im only 2 and a bit weeks in. So although as usual i have an ever growing book mountain beside my bed i was in need of a light, fun read and for me that generally mean YA fantasy/romance – with a hint of comedy. And with this book that is exactly what i got with this book and more! 🙂

This was such a fun read and was a great example of a love/hate relationship done right. And i have expectations in this regard as i have mentioned before that Kelley Armstrong is one of my favourite authors and is the queen of the love/hate relationship. But this was exceptionally well done, especially within a YA novel, as the comedy through the book kept it light and keep the characters tantalizing close to caving to what they were feeling or possibly killing one another despite the danger they were already in. 🙂

The main characters Daemon and Katy are an awesome and combustible combination. Their developing relationship was incredibly enjoyable to follow as Daemon is a self-admitted pain in the butt! But a hot pain in the butt so that makes up for it, or as he likes to refer to any of his more noble moments – as bonus points 🙂 like in primary school. And katy is an incredibily likeable and relatable character, especially as she is a book blogger and altho i am very new to this, it made it even more enjoyable as a wanted to relate that much more. And as she develops in the book she is definatly no push over and gives as much as she gets.

One of my most memorible quotes and definatly one im gona use in my own life is her referance to her “Bitch switch” which Daemon and his free running mouth seemed to set of alot- Love it!

The progress of the story is rather traditional in relation aliens arrival on earth and involvement of the government etc etc. But it also has a new take on their origin, power and the good verses evil complex has a good and interesting take on things. And that is problem the main thread in this book so i dont want cause any serious spoilers. But to say danger and forced interactions i.e Daemon and Katy ‘stuck’ with one another for ‘safety sake’. 😉

I found this book through my Book Lovers Review email, where they have a Halloween Competition going on and for the rest of this month they have convinved some of their favourite authors to write little halloween snip-its – Awesome I Know! And i loved the little snip-it and their so much that i had to get the book on my Kindle. Which is a big compliment from me because i am so indecisive when it comes to YA books as a recent number i’ve read have been bad to say the least, probly just from bad choice but they have all started to sound the same.But this book took a whole different spin on things.

This isnt much of a spoiler but to say this is the first time i’d read any YA novels with a focus on aliens would be putting it mildly, as its not something i have ever really had an interest in im more of a werewolf girl myself :). But this book has changed my opinion and im definatly gona have to buy the 2nd book in the series, as exciting things appear to be happening. 🙂

And one final quote because i loved it and i believe this is something all girls should learn to recognise from a young age, whether they heed the warning is up to themselves – not sure to message would stick with me either if i discover a daemon who was interested in me lol

Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the Holy Trinity of hot boys.”

As always i would love to hear from you’s, especially if any of you’s decide to give it a try.

And all feedback of things you liked, disliked, need to improve on my little bloggie attempt are welcome as i hopefully continue to improve.

Maebhe

Leave a Reply

