Tea Blog

Game of Thrones Exhibition, Belfast 2013

Game of Thrones exhibition

Admittedly I am fairly new to the Game of Thrones franchise. I finally started reading the first book and watching the first series, but it was a slightly daunting process. Because it is such a well established series with thousands of loyal followers. Plus willingly putting myself into emotional jeopardy, because it is well known that George R.R. Martin is a cruel, cruel author ( ๐Ÿ˜€ ), who openly enjoys creating fears within the read, daring them to fall in love with a character, yet keep reading. Knowing that the executioners sword is just hanging over their heads – taunting you.

“I want my readers and viewers to be afraid to turn the page.”
-George R.R. Martin

Annoyingly his reasoning for this cruel treatment is valid and understandable. He wanted the bring back that childhood fear for the hero, because in classic novels the reader had lost their fear for the hero, basically knowing that he was going to survive whatever disaster was in their way, maybe not unscathed but alive and probably with a happy ending. And his books renew that fear and is part of the appeal of his books, despite the devastation which often occurs from reading them.
enhanced-buzz-26406-1370622814-4

For Lack of a Better Comic :: A Storm of Sadness.

But my good friend Sio, whose tumblr can be found here: http://technotwat.tumblr.com/ , convinced me to give them a go and three chapters and I was hooked!!

An exciting additional element is that a large part of the GofT’s tv show is filmed in Belfast, in Northern Ireland. Which is so excited because to be honest Ireland can be quite boring but this is in my back yard and pretty dame cool. Plus it presents the possibility to breath the same air as Khal Drogo/Jason Momoa (holds in sob) and Emilia Clarke/Daenerys Targaryen.

So I have finished university and I am currently in suspended animation because I am waiting for university results and responses from other universities for Masters, as well as other stuff which is making me wait. So I have been filling my time with work, both retail and hair, and just hanging out with my friends. This resulted in my adventure at the Game of Thrones Exhibition which was in Belfast (http://interact.discovernorthernireland.com/gotexhibition) but ended on Monday the 17th of June, with Sio and Lauz and it was FREE! ๐Ÿ™‚

It was an awesome day because the exhibit was full of props and costumes from the show. Ranging from the weapons of the Starks thru to the white walkers. Ned starks sword for example is ridiculously huge, and yes over compensating jokes were made at this point. ๐Ÿ™‚ The costumes were amazing, because they not only looked authentic but they created a sense of realism with the characters. The best example is that of Emilia Clarke because her costumes are tiny. Serious I knew she was short at only 5 ft 1, but she is skinny as a matchstick too and I’m not big but standing beside her costume made me feel huge. ๐Ÿ˜€ My favourite part which there have been some hints at was Daenerys exhibit because of the costumes and photos with Drogo but also because of the dragons. Especially the dragon egg props, one of which was apparently given to George R. R. martin on his wedding day which I thought was pretty cool.

OOO and cant forget one of the biggest reasons for going to the exhibition – the opportunity to sit on the Iron Throne and have my very own Khalessi moment. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I took quite a few photos as did the girls I went with so I thought id put up a few of my favourites.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know if any of you’s got to see it and what you’s thought, or even just your favourite picture.

Love Maebhe x

Leave a Reply

