Uncategorized

Tea Break: What I’m reading now?

This is just a little update on what I am currently reading. I have been trying to make this a more regular update but I am still trying to get settled into a more regular routine. Especially when it comes to reading. I have managed to pick up a couple of books at the most amazing second hand bookshop called Armchair Books which I’m gonna have to do a full post on its that awesome!

However this is just a quick run through of titles & synopses, so lets get going. The synopses will be linked in the title, it will take you to goodreads.

In the Fantasy category I have 3 book, the first book is;
Brandon Sanderson’s, The Final Empire, Mistborn Book One
sanderson
I have started this book only recently following Sanderson’s appearance on the Geek and Sundry’s The Storyboard with Patrick Rothfuss, as well as a recommendations from my besties Siobhan and Hannah. And I have to say I am in love already. I originally had it on my kindle but its a pretty big book, like Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, so I decided to buy the paperback as I find it easier to read paperbacks especially when they have things like maps at the front that I might want to consult. This is one of the books I got second Hand from the Armchair bookshop last week. I was able to purchase it & a copy of The Dragon Keeper by Robin Hobb for under £5!!

I have also decided to go back and reread;
Robin Hobbs, Assassins Apprentice, Book one Farseer Trilogy
AssassinsApprentice-UK
I started this book last year and it is really good, however I don’t want to spoil anything for any future potential readers, but something very sad happens about a third of the way in and I set the book down to read something a little happier, however I never got round to picking it back up.
But out of the very small number of books that I managed to get to Scotland with me (2 & my kindle) it was very sad to have to leave my library behind, Robin Hobbs book was one of the books I was determined to read. Also the armchair book shop has quite a large collection of Robin Hobbs books 🙂 So it is the perfect excuse to resurrect this book from its neglect.

The only other book I managed to bring from home was;
Sherrilyn Kenyon, Inferno, Book 4 Chronicles of Nick
inferno
I love Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series and when she started her side series the Chronicles of Nick I fell in Love instantly! Maybe because I have aged similarly to Nick while I read the books, so he was always one of my favourite characters. He is snarky, sarcastic and so funny it hurts. And of course he’s gorgeous. He is also Cajun and lives in the city I have wanted to visited for the longest time – New Orleans.
Compared to Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series, the Chronicles of Nick is a YA series which combines vampires and zombies into an urban fantasy setting. with lots of drama, ass kicking and a lot of humour to balance it out. If you love urban fantasy I think you will love this series even though it is mostly aimed at a younger crowd.

My next couple of books definitely aren’t for the younger audience. I mentioned in a previous post that I had recently began reading more contemporary novels specifically within romance. A guess this isn’t as big a change I seem to think, I think there is just more a stigma around these kinds of novels. Although I believe everyone love a little romance… 😉
So recently I read Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Disaster . This was an awesome book. 😀 Which lead me to another book by Katy Evans, Real, which had a similar pretext however it was set in an older age ban and was a little more sports focused. However I still really liked it and it had me crying at one point. I think these books may have sparked an addiction.
So I recently found a new author
Madeline Sheehan, and her first book Undeniable
Undeniable
I haven’t had a chance to read this yet but it was recommended online because I liked Beautiful disaster. While BD is focused on a university romance in which an underground boxing ring is the influencing factor in what seems to be a pattern in these contemporary romances where the male protagonist is nearly always a “macho He-man”, which I am a little susceptible to ;). While Undeniable has a bit of a change as it now centres around a motorcycle gang and the system they hold.

The other is another book in a series I read a stand alone from quite a while ago. This is;
Jennifer Ashley, Pride Mates
PrideMatesNewCoverfront
This kind of takes a normal paranormal romance/urban fantasy and cranks the romance (smut lol) up to 100! So its still story based, its not erotica by any means but you still get a bit more than the normal romance novels as I’m sure you can all tell by the covers.

And Yes all my romance or contemporary romance novel all live on my Kindle because that means I can read them at University, on the train, at Starbucks without dying of shame or having people staring at me like I’m a little bit odd…which I probably am 😀

So this was my run down of the books that I am reading at the moment. If there are any books here or anything that I’ve mentioned that you want to hear more about or would like reviews on. Please comment, I love to hear from you’s!!

Night for now!
Mwah!
Maebhe

Leave a Reply

