Tea Blog: All Hallow’s Eve Preparations

Sorry I have been gone so long. I have been swamped under with my masters course. Its all a little hectic right now but there has been some fun in my life recently with the celebration of Halloween or All Hallows Eve!! Which has to be one of my favourite holidays!! There’s shed loads of fancy dress, no one judges you if your leave the house in full blown drag or looking like death* ;).

However I was a little worried what my Halloween was gonna be like because this is my first Halloween – holiday away from home. And even though my family aren’t huge fans of Halloween they go along with my obsession. So I didn’t want to freak out my new flat mates too early on. But surprisingly all the girls I am currently living with are all from countries which don’t celebrate Halloween!! Which seems mental to me!! But thankfully this means that they were all excited to see what Halloween is all about. :)and how could I refuse to educate them on this awesome day!!

So we started with the basics: costumes
So all the girls are working on classic costumes ranging from the Grim Reaper, Vampires and a Skeleton!

I am going to Comic Con and I am gonna work so much harder to make a proper costume. My initial idea has been to create a Princess Mononoke’s San costume for that. But since I have very little resources and time over in Edinburgh. So I am going to do a gothic/punk version of the Rosie the Riveter. And depending on the success of said costume there will propably be photos. And if I can get permission from the girls I stick their’s up too. 🙂

Secondly: decorations & food!!

Since I am living in student accommodation I was kinda restricted so I stuck with the basics which is a pumpkin!!!
I spent just over an hour carving this today while the rain was absolutely pelting it down. Thankfully I had gotten home from my little shopping adventure for the food supplies just before the worst of the weather hit. But I have don’t more complicated pumpkins before. As last year I did Oogie Boogie from the Nightmare Before Christmas and a graveyard/hangman scene but as I was working on a smaller pumpkin I wanted to try something a little different & I think a little more traditional.
halloween 2
halloween 3

I would love to see/hear if you are pumpkin carvers too 🙂

Next was the food – best part in my opinion!!So with one of my flat mates named Sara, we made chocolate and sprinkle covered apples. It was so much fun and we had a great giggle making them. We ran out of chocolate and I made a great sacrifice for the good of the flat, sacrificing some of my chocolate stash for the cause!!

But they turned out pretty awesome & cute. But the true test will happen tomorrow with the taste test!!
halloween 4
halloween 5

And I couldn’t make a Halloween post without telling you about my Halloween reads & hopefully hearing some suggestions from yous too!!

So this years Halloween reads are;
The Business of Death by Trent Jamieson
published by Orbit
Blurb:
Steven de Selby has a hangover. Bright lights, loud noise, and lots of exercise are the last thing he wants. But that’s exactly what he gets when someone starts shooting at him. Steven is no stranger to death – Mr. D’s his boss after all – but when a dead girl saves him from sharing her fate, he finds himself on the wrong end of the barrel. His job is to guide the restless dead to the underworld but now his clients are his own colleagues, friends, and family. Mr. D’s gone missing and with no one in charge, the dead start to rise, the living are hunted, and the whole city teeters on the brink of a regional apocalypse – unless Steven can shake his hangover, not fall for the dead girl, and find out what happened to his boss – that is, Death himself.

Im only a little ways into it so far, as I said I am a little swamped under right now and I am focusing on uni work. But so far I am loving Selby he is witty, with a really dry sense of humour. And this book has taken a whole need on the classic idea of ghosts/zombies. And the idea of Death as a boss is pretty awesome.

My second book is:
The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice (Queen of Horror)
Published by Chatto & Windus
Blurb:
The time is the present.

The place, the rugged coast of northern California. A bluff high above the Pacific. A grand mansion full of beauty and tantalizing history set against a towering redwood forest.

A young reporter on assignment from the San Francisco Observer. . . an older woman, welcoming him into her magnificent, historic family home that he has been sent to write about and that she must sell with some urgency . . . A chance encounter between two unlikely people . . . an idyllic night—shattered by horrific unimaginable violence. . .The young man inexplicably attacked—bitten—by a beast he cannot see in the rural darkness . . . A violent episode that sets in motion a terrifying yet seductive transformation as the young man, caught between ecstasy and horror, between embracing who he is evolving into and fearing who—what—he will become, soon experiences the thrill of the wolf gift.

As he resists the paradoxical pleasure and enthrallment of his wolfen savagery and delights in the power and (surprising) capacity for good, he is caught up in a strange and dangerous rescue and is desperately hunted as “the Man Wolf,” by authorities, the media and scientists (evidence of DNA threaten to reveal his dual existence). . . As a new and profound love enfolds him, questions emerge that propel him deeper into his mysterious new world: questions of why and how he has been given this gift; of its true nature and the curious but satisfying pull towards goodness; of the profound realization that there are others like him who may be watching—guardian creatures who have existed throughout time and may possess ancient secrets and alchemical knowledge and throughout it all, the search for salvation for a soul tormented by a new realm of temptations, and the fraught, exhilarating journey, still to come, of being and becoming, fully, both wolf and man.

Now I just found this recently in Edinburghs Central Library, which I have to say is one of the best libraries I have ever been in! But I don’t think it need much explaining why Anne Rice is one of my Halloween reads. She is not only the Queen of Horror having reinvented and defined the modern Vampire tale, but she has can back from her genre vacation to tackle the werewolf tale. Which has me sooooo excited because werewolves are like my origin point for Fantasy from watching classic horror movies and an American Werewolf in London when I was young with my dad, carrying through to his tacky werewolf jokes;
while walking the dog one evening with a full moon, dear dad turned to me and says
“I used to be a werewolf, but im alright Noooooowwwwwww (howl)”
was hilarious at the time I promise. 🙂
This is the book im waiting to dive into once my big presentation is done next week.

I will fill your in more on the actual happenings on All Hallows eve/Halloween & hopefully lots of photos.

Let me know how your Halloween is going, or what you are planning!!

Have fun, be safe but most importantly have an awesome & happy Howl-O-Ween!!

Love,
Maebhe xx

Leave a Reply

