Book Resolutions 2014

So I was on my goodreads – nosie-ing around looking for new books and avoiding my essay- when I was I was disappointed to discover that I had just…just missed my 2013 Goodreads target of 50 books but just ONE book! This was frustrating because I had made my target, but a lot of my reads for 2013 were Re-reads and I didn’t count them but the main problem was simply that I had too much university work and too little funds :s Universities just don not understand that I have reading expectations!! πŸ˜€ Dissertations REALLY don’t care and I then moving and all the drama I have complained about before have got in the way.

However rather then shy away from this target as a failure I have reset my goal & decided to aim higher! So for this year I am aiming to read 75 (new?) books. This is a little ambitious but I am looking forward to the challenge and the opportunity to discover a couple of new authors/books that I’ve seen recently.

I’ve decided to set up a 2014 to-read list on my goodreads page in the hope of finding some interesting reads because I’ve been stuck in a little bit of a book rut this year & ended up doing more re-reads than new reads. The Bookriot blog has been great at generating new book recommendations as well as TheReadables on Youtube. But

I would love your recommendations for this as well and to hear what your aims or book recommendations for this year are.

Plus I’ve been going on a little bit of a book binge recently – there are so many books I want but trying to survive on hand luggage and squeezing in as many books as possible is not a good combination! While I would happily let my suitcase look like this however my family insisted I bring clothing and Christmas presents.

book suitcase

Bookriot is also where I saw this amazing Louis Vuitton library suitcase for the fabulously stylish booknerd. However much I lack style I totally want one of these for myself!!
LV book library

Heres hoping I can reach my target as well as keep up with my bloggie aspirations this year too! I will be travelling back to Edinburgh tomorrow and leaving my dear home again but not for too long! Have to enjoy the travelling while it lasts (and all of Edinburghs amazing book shops!!)

Mwah!
Maebhe x

2 thoughts on “Book Resolutions 2014

  1. I finally got around to actually setting up a Goodreads account just last week! Here’s my post about why I finally did so if you’re interested–
    http://bookmammalmusings.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/better-late-than-never-right/
    My reading goal for the new year is also 75 books! I’ve never tracked how many books I read before, so I’m not sure if this is realistic, but I THINK it will be!
    (I am also a big fan of Book Riot!)
    Good luck with your goal!

    • I’m glad to see you’ve joined goodreads, it really is a great platform for following your progress as well as getting recommendations πŸ˜€ And good luck on reaching 75 – I know ill be struggling to reach this myself but it’ll be fun to try!! BookRiot is also good for recommendations and keeping you updated on book releases. Thank you and good luck to you too!! πŸ™‚
      Maebhe

Leave a Reply

