New Year, New Reading Resolutions

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d76/37071829/files/2015/01/img_0003.jpg
So according to Goodreads I have reached my 2014 reading challenge goal of reading of 50 books. However this was a difficult year when I came to reading new books, mostly due to university obligations and a tightening of the purse strings following my big move to Edinburgh. The main result of all these changes was that I feel back on old favourites, re-reading series or titles that I love and therefore feel no pressure to complete the book or my discovery of audiobooks. I currently only own a few audiobooks, the most important being my Harry Potter audios which have renewed my love for the books as the movie adaptations make it easy to forget the details that were lost in the films. For example Chamber of Secrets is my least favourite Harry Potter film, however it is one of favourites when it comes to the audio books as Gilderoy Lockhart is hilarious in audio, the true extent of his narcissism can really be enjoyed.

Back to books – while I love participating in these reading challenges I am awful at maintaining my reading-to read-read lists. Therefore I have decided to maintain the same reading challenge for 2015, 50 new books. However I wanted to add a new challenge to broaden my reading appetite.

I recently discovered the BookRiot Read Harder challenge. The rules are simple and designed to expand your reading through suggested topics. & I’m hoping to use these suggestions to help me complete a personal challenge – Finish my physical To-Be-Read pile ( this is no where as extensive as my digital To-Be-Read list & therefore much more achievable) as well as discover some new reads/authors. There are 24 suggestive reading topics, optimally 2 a month. Personally I think I will select 12 of them, the full list of options is available at the link above.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d76/37071829/files/2015/01/img_00041.jpg

This is the start of a new year and it is full of opportunities for change and growth. I started of the year by cutting 5 inches off my hair, inspired by YouTube beauty guru Essie Button’s hair style.And I plan to continue my job hunt or possibly return to education, however overall I will continue to grow as a person.

If you are taking part in the Read Harder Challenge I would love to hear what you are reading and you New Years plans.

Maebhe

Leave a Reply

