Uncategorized

Samantha Ellis’ Top 5 Literary Heroines

I need to get this book! Truly sounds amazing. A very feminist review of the women in classical novels (& I love that she agrees with my views on Cathy from Wuthering Heights!)

Penguin Blog

Samantha Ellis, author of How to be a Heroine, is fully aware of the importance of strong female role-models within the literary canon. So much so, that she’s written a book on the subject. Here she talks us through five of her favourites, from Anne of Green Gables to Scarlett O’Hara.

When I felt like I wanted to change, I used to read about the good-girl heroines of Victorian novels, but as Jane Austen rightly said, ‘Pictures of perfection…make me sick and wicked’, and now, if I try reading What Katy Did, Little Women or (aarghh) Pollyanna, I’m liable to get so mutinous that I throw down the books, drink all the whisky, put on my best dress and go rampaging. But here are some heroines I still reach for when I need inspiration.

Anne of Green GablesAnne Shirley, from L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables

If you want to change the…

View original post 454 more words

Leave a Reply

