Advice · Tea Blog · Uncategorized

Tea Blog: #DearMe

My various social media sites have been taken over by the Hashtag #DearMe – originally an academic study and a book supported by a number of famous individuals including J. k. Rowling, created to fuel the discussion on what advice you would give your younger (16 year old) self regarding life, work and self confidence. The tag has been revitalised by a the queens of YouTube stars including Felicia Day and Grace Helbig through to Bunny Meyer and many others.

The stories these amazing women have shared so far have all been amazing, promoting self acceptance, confidence in both body and mind and general positivity when it comes to looking on life. It is simply inspiring to hear women who I aspire to, share stories about their own inadequcies and the struggles that they have overcome in life, so I decided to throw in my thoughts.

Young Maebhe was an incredibly awkward individual. Following an equally awkward start in primary school, the girl who spent most of her life lost inside her own mind, drifting out off windows or with her nose buried in a book (most likely a Harry Potter novel) I had a hard time making new friends. While I had friends and wasn’t bullied in high school, I struggled to adapt to social situations and had the pleasure of being the only member of the Library club in my first year. Growing up my greatest fear was a sense of social invisibility and the lose of self. I wanted to challenge my social anxiety, make more friends and become a more outgoing individual without having to lose myself to fit in. I loved my pink hair, I loved my books and my many other nerdy interests.

Now 22, I am a graduate, job hunting and I still have my pink hair, adore my books and have found many more nerdy loves. However I have grown as a person, I am much more confident in the person I am and my passions. Developing a thick skin against those who would drag me down to their level or encourage us to settle for “little town ambitions”.

#DearMe : I would want to tell younger me to hold strong to my dreams. Don’t let the doubts and differing opinions of others threaten your ambitions so much or discourage you. You will meet your best friends at university. People who will stick with you throughout life, who understand and love you for your bookiness!

As for romantic love – that will come later- stop stressing!


  

  However this is just the beginning we will continue to meet new people and take on more adventures – so I’m sure I’ll be back in a few years time with an update. We will hold on to our favourite mantras;
 Carpe Diem, Thrive & “Life isn’t finding shelter in the storm. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.” (From Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Acheron- small hint about my next post)!

  Share your #DearMe story on Twitter on your own blog or below!!

I would love to hear your stories and your advice and ambitions 😄

Maebhe


Leave a Reply

