Tea Blog

Tea Blog: The Antrim Garden Show

My little blog has taken a decidedly green tinge this month! As a follow up to my terrarium DIY, I went to the first Antrim Garden Show a few weekends ago now and it was very fun event however in typical Irish fashion the Sunday was also a total wash out – rain rain and more rain. But rain has never stopped me from enjoying something – especially when you are walking through a marquee surrounded by beautiful floral displays and quirky little shops and food stalls.

  
I had planned on going on the Saturday when gardening guru Monty Don was speaking, however things obviously didn’t work out that way. However Sunday turned out to be a great day as all the vendors were happy to see people milling about and very interested in getting rid of product rather than drag everything back with them after the events of there were deals to be had!!   

The awards for best of show had already been given out. And the pictures included show some of the winners but mostly these are simply little displays that caught my eye! So many pretty displays and I was so sad to discover that the few pictures I took of a lovely little display full of little succulents in teapots and teacups didn’t turn out well – they were too dark to use but they have inspired some new projects so maybe soon…

    

While at the show there was a second marquee full of local produce and while I am not really a drinker (of alcohol) I discovered this little stall selling cider which was really lovely and very good value. There were two options – the medium shown below and a sweet version (red bottle in the background). Ultimately I bought three bottles (2green, 1 red) – the red was the winner but there were both really delicious.

If cider is your kind of thing definitely check them out: http://www.longmeadowcider.com

    

I also made two little purchases, these adorable initial mugs for my mum and the floral/bird handbag for myself.      

I also received a free gift from a kind shop owner, who have me this cute chair which I plan to restore either as a functioning seat or into a flower display of some kind… We shall see.

  
Sorry this post is so short and soooo late but this have been a little cray lately but things seem to be heading back to normal. So hopefully I will be back to my semi regular schedule soon.

Maebhe

Leave a Reply

